Username: Password:

Author Topic: Hunting Pack and gear "must haves"  (Read 5744 times)

PaulBunyan

Re: Hunting Pack and gear "must haves"
« Reply #25 on: November 14, 2018, 09:30:34 pm »
Good read, ill have to try out some of these items this year.

Im new to AZ but I'll throw in a few odd items I swear by-
-Havalon knife: I'm sold on the replaceable blade knives, though I would go with a non folding one (tyto type) if i had to do it again.
-Alaska Guide Creations bino harness: seems to have extra storage compared to other similar brands and is pretty bomb-proof
-Leukotape: think moleskin but basically tac welded to your foot. Doesn't hurt to rip it off or anything, but otherwise it WILL NOT COME OFF. seriously.
-Steripen: excellent water purification option if you have a decent enough water source to fill a nalgene. (like i said I'm new to AZ so maybe this is a deal breaker  ;-) )
-Merino wool clothing: can be a tad scratchy but otherwise its amazing

ArizonaGunOwners.com

• Advertisement

coelacanth

• Sr. Contributor
    • eccentric orbit
    « Reply #26 on: November 14, 2018, 10:12:30 pm »
    Haven't tried the Havalon knives - or any of the other replaceable blade offerings.  They seem a bit gimmicky to me and overly prone to suffering from "Murphy's Law" but if you've had good luck with them I might have to try one.   :hmm  The last few years I've been making do with a Finnish puuko set that I've become pretty fond of. 

Some sort of binocs harness is a good idea.  I haven't tried the one you mentioned but anything that keeps them from flopping around and still close enough to grab without looking is a plus. 

Leukotape sounds interesting.  I think that's the stuff they slapped on me after surgery but I hadn't thought about it as an item for the hunting pack.