Username: Password:

Author Topic: Almost got all the parts for this rifle.  (Read 2693 times)

armoredman

• Contributor
Almost got all the parts for this rifle.
« on: September 24, 2018, 10:30:14 pm »
I have never done this before, but got "talked" into it. :) So far, Cav Arms lower with recently delivered Cav Arms pivot/retaining pin and buffer pin, Aero upper with Aero handguard, Bear Creek carbine length barrel, 223 Wylde chambering 1-7 and a generic muzzle device, mostly Stag lower parts kit, unknown charging handle and carbine buffer/spring, gas tube and tools eroute. Still need a .750 gas block and bolt carrier group, plus some sort of sights/optics, and a buttplate or slip on recoil pad - this lower was stripped to nothing when I got it.

Yeah, I know. *sigh* It's an AR in my house I am assembling and feel actually somewhat excited about. Go figure. A few more items and it might actually work. I have a buddy local to help me put it together right so I don't screw it up. :)

ArizonaGunOwners.com

• Advertisement

patkelly4370

Re: Almost got all the parts for this rifle.
    « Reply #1 on: September 24, 2018, 11:01:12 pm »
    I shot my first AR a couple of years ago at age 57. Never have had a burning desire to own an AR.
    Shooting that one was "meh, don't see what all the fuss is about". It had no 'character'. And it was someone else's.
    So to give it a solid try, and stick it to CA, I decided to build an 80% ghost gun assault rifle (according to CA overlords).
    I now have 3 modern sporting rifles (now living in AZ). They're not my favorites, but for me they're the newest kid on the block.
    Only help I had with the build(s) was YouTube.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

GringoLoco

« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2018, 05:18:01 pm »
    “What Would Stoner Do”

Looks like it’ll be a nice light AR, fun!