Username: Password:

Author Topic: Barrel minimums for suppressors  (Read 621 times)

Jk17766

Barrel minimums for suppressors
« on: January 22, 2021, 01:14:04 pm »
Hello,
I am curious as to why barrel minimums for suppressors exist? For instance one of my cans is rated for 10"+.
Is this due to the suppressor not being able to withstand the pressure from a smaller barrel, or is it more because the suppressor was never tested at a lower length?
I have no plan to go against their minimums, but I am just curious as to why they set them.
TIA

ArizonaGunOwners.com

• Advertisement

870policemag

Re: Barrel minimums for suppressors
    « Reply #1 on: January 22, 2021, 02:00:48 pm »
    I'm no professional but I think it has something to do with higher temps, backpressure and bullet stabilization. I bought a Surefire SB for this same reason. It has a slightly larger bore/baffle diameter to help to stabilize  bullets out of sub 9" barrels. That larger bore diameter is also supposed to help gas flow through the can and decrease gas blow back into the shooters face.

I'm sure someone with more knowledge will chime in soon enough.
    Bullets are the only things that do their job only after they're fired.

www.mesapawn.net

CZ

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2021, 03:17:42 pm »
    Barrel length is a determining factor in the suppressors design.

A shorter barrel allows more un-burned powder to be burned inside the suppressor, has more blast pressure, more flame and affects sound performance and longevity too.

Most cans designed for a shorter barrel will be heavier and made to withstand these things.

The sound suppression on a short barrel will normally be a lot less than what you get with a longer one too.

AZ Husker

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2021, 04:02:18 am »